What is Capstone?

Erika Valenzuela
2 min readAug 30, 2021

It is currently my fourth year as an interactive design student at Maryville University. My past three years of studying graphic design, web design, coding, typography, and all sorts of art mediums have led me to this moment in my college journey: capstone.

And I plan to include you in my Capstone experience by documenting my process.

So what exactly is a capstone?

In Maryville University’s design and visual arts program, Capstone is a course senior students enroll in to take on a challenging and in-depth project that exhibits the skills they have gained from their college courses and experience. A capstone can be any project ranging from interactive experiences (web design, mobile app design, kiosks, and video games) or storytelling (animations and sequential art) and or packaging for products (restaurants, clothing brands, and even toys). It all depends on the student and what they want to pour their heart and soul into.

What Do I Want to Do?

I’ve heard from previous seniors that Capstone can be very challenging, but the results can be very rewarding. Since students have a wide range of opportunities, it can be overwhelming to figure out what we want to focus on. At the moment, I’m interested in pursuing UX/UI and combining it with some animation. Some ideas I have include designing a mobile app or a website, but who knows? I might change my mind and pursue a more animation-focused project.

As I think about my Capstone project, some questions I need to consider are…

  • Does this project show off my skills?
  • Is this a project that I can realistically accomplish?
  • Is this project going to be worth my blood, sweat, and tears?

Whatever my project may be, I know that I will come out as a better-skilled designer. As I try to finalize my decision on what my capstone project will be about, you can join me in my experience by reading my future blog posts.

Wish me luck.

--

--

Erika Valenzuela

I am a motivated, bilingual, interactive/graphic designer actively seeking new knowledge and improving my user experience and user interface skills to create gr